It took three years to reach 365!


pen-vs-sword2

Yesterday was a milestone of sorts. I posted my 365th blog! When I started writing in 2009 I tried to post every day. I even wrote enough posts to cover my absence when I traveled to Japan to vacation with my son who was living there. I had heard of the dangers of broadcasting the fact that I was leaving my home vacant for those ten days so I arranged for my blogs to be published daily instead of just stopping them or sharing where I actually was.

In looking over my flag counter, I see that at least one person in 183 countries has read something that I have written. I reached the most people on November 12, 2009 when I had over 1,100 hits on a single day. That was one of the times my blog was chosen for being “Freshly Pressed”. I’m not good at remembering things but I think that honor happened a total of three times. Over that time my blogs have been viewed more than 122,000 times. I know that is just a drop in the ocean to those who get thousands of hits a day but for someone who has spent the majority of my life not speaking up, it means a lot to me.

When I look at the list of how many read individual blogs, there are far more that have 0 or 1 as a total than have any significant numbers. On those that have 1, I can almost guarantee that 1 was my cousin who was my greatest encourager. She passed away in April of 2010 and took her comments with her. I still miss the closeness we were achieving because of my blogs. There were so many years before the internet that we drifted apart.

This week I watched CNN heroes. Seven out of ten of the heroes were women. They have the courage to act upon their convictions. The only thing I do is express my opinion. At this point I don’t have the strength to do much more than write. Much has happened with my health these past two years when I have become more and more silent with less and less energy. It has only been in the last couple of days that I have increased my desire to write more than just a few sentences on Facebook. Facebook has given me the opportunity to still express my opinions, albeit in a much shorter form. There are times I feel compelled to write. Thanks to a new supplement, I’m just beginning to feel that compulsion returning as I feel more like my former self.

I am frequently in groups where I am asked what my wishes are, how I would do anything different, how I would change the world. I am reminded one person can make a difference.

I would love to find a cause which set me on fire as much as those seven women this year in 2012.  I secretly would like to positively influence the lives of others. I would love that, for now, my writings could influence others. If I can’t do something myself, I would like the idea I lit the fire under someone else.

With the power of the internet, I believe that the adage “The pen is mightier than the sword” is more true now than it was when that phrase was first uttered. I would love to think that something I wrote made a difference.

There is a new device on the market that allows people to talk while the computer records their voice in words. I have never been able to speak with clear thoughts for  very long. Ideas just don’t come out of me that way. Put a pen and paper in my reach or a keyboard and ideas flow out of me almost instantly. Some times I have to think about what I want to say for a day, a week, a month, but eventually most of the time it comes out in my words on paper.

For yesterday and today I am grateful to write two blogs in a row. It’s too soon to say I am back, but I am hoping. Namaste. Attic Annie

2 Comments

Filed under Casual conversation, creative writing, Uncategorized

2 responses to “It took three years to reach 365!

  1. I’m much like you. I couldn’t speak eloquently if I had to, but ask me to put my thoughts in writing and I can make something of them.

    I hope your improved health continues on!

    • atticannie

      Hi Terri, I didn’t know if there was anyone “out there” who would still be around to read anything I said. Even though I haven’t been writing, I’m still reading about your great life and family. Your stories are so entertaining. Jeanne aka AA