Now what did I write about today? hmm Oh, memory!


I live a very simple life. It’s OK. I like it that way. There are fewer things to try to remember. I came across a parody today that really hits me where I live. I thought I would save it for my blog.

My first problem was that I haven’t been blogging nearly as often as I did when I first started. I couldn’t for the life of me remember how to insert a you tube video into my blog. When I first started in ’09 it was much more difficult. It took me a while to learn it, but once I did, I had it. Until I stopped. I kept telling myself that I remembered it was a simple process. It was much more simple than it originally was. After looking for advice on wordpress, which I didn’t find, I finally thought I’d try just copying the address and printing it in the blog. That seemed much too simple, but by golly, it worked. I had to save the draft and preview the blog, but there it was.

I can relate to this song. A couple of weeks ago I lost my big container of sea salt. I looked in every cabinet in the kitchen. It’s at least six inches high so it’s hard to find. I gave up and went back to my regular salt. About a week later I took my catsup off the refrigerator shelf. There was the sea salt hiding behind it.

I take fish oil and I eat fish several times a week. I once took gingko biloba but I am no longer allowed to do that because I am on blood thinners the rest of my life. (No one told me that when I opted for a mechanical heart valve.) According to the gingko link, it now says that  “recent studies have found that ginkgo has little or no effect on the anticoagulant properties or pharmacodynamics of warfarin in healthy subjects”. However, it lists several undesirable side effects.

The article also lists two studies that show exactly the opposite results of the effects of gingko on memory retention. Of course. Same thing as eggs are unhealthy.

I have several friends over the years that have told me they buy gingko but forget to take it. Go figure.

As far as keys, I have two sets. I’ve pretty well trained myself to hang up my keys immediately when I get home. If I forget, at least I have the second set to use until I can find the first set again.

I try to play Scrabble, or do a crossword puzzle several days a week. Of course when I sought links to crossword puzzles and memory, I found this quote:

“Doing crossword puzzles, reading, and playing cards daily may delay the rapid memory decline that occurs if people develop dementia, according to a U.S. study. Researchers from New York’s Albert Einstein College of Medicine spent five years following 488 people aged 75 to 85 who did not have dementia at the start of the study. During the study period, 101 of these people developed dementia. – From Reuters

Is there something wrong with my thinking? Didn’t 25% of the elders develop dementia? Or does that mean that ONLY 25% developed dementia and 75% did not?

A man at church said hello to me after services and called me by name. He looked somewhat familiar. It took me half a week to figure out he had been in my Sunday discussion class for several months. I have no idea what his name is.

I think one of the greatest inventions of all time is the car finder panic button when I can’t find where I parked my car. It’s embarrassing but it keeps me from wandering Texas parking lots on very hot or cold days. I can recognize my license plates. However, those are going to change in June. I just got the other ones memorized.

Senior moments plague me. When my son comes home to visit he constantly remarks that I “have already asked that question” several times. I don’t know if I have or if he just doesn’t want to answer and is confusing me. He is capable of that.

I guess it happens to almost everyone sooner or later. Like the singer, I figure we might as well make fun of ourselves until something comes along to really help. Namaste. Attic Annie

 

Comments Off on Now what did I write about today? hmm Oh, memory!

Filed under Casual conversation, diary, general topics, health, musings, relationships, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.