Are health care protestors protesting the right issues?


It looks as if health care reform has passed. I have friends who are shouting hurray. I have friends who are just plain shouting. There is much as yet to be done to make this a good bill for everyone concerned.

This bill brought out the worst in many American citizens. Racial and sexual preference  epithets and spit were hurled at members of Congress by protestors over the weekend. Much to my approval, anyone receiving such disrespect ignored the situation. They vowed to keep this volatile issue strictly about health care. I heartily approve the right to dissent, but I truly believe it must be done with decorum and not disgrace.

It seems members of the Tea Party have become quite vocal in their opposition to this bill. The main goal of the Tea Party, as I understand it, is to get Congress to quit raising taxes. the party was formed as a response to the stimulus bills in 2009. They have taken to the streets with their protests.

What bemuses me about all these protests is the fact that I have heard very little about the cost of the wars we have been waging since 1985. Some of us are yelling from the rooftops about not helping out our neighbors who have no health insurance at all while they remain mute about the trillions of dollars that have been spent spreading death and destruction in the past twenty-five years.

Nor for that matter has the crucial concern been the well-being of the average American. One former Defense Department official has estimated that it cost U.S. taxpayers about $47 billion in 1985 alone for military expenditures related to the Persian Gulf;[24] former Secretary of the Navy John Lehman put the annual figure at $40 billion.[25] What could be worth these staggering sums?

The United States, the United Kingdom, and Saudi Arabia became major financial contributors, the United States donating “$600 million in aid per year, with a matching amount coming from the Persian Gulf states.”[57] Afghanistan

WASHINGTON — The cost of the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan could total $2.4 trillion through the next decade, or nearly $8,000 per man, woman and child in the country, according to a Congressional Budget Office estimate scheduled for release Wednesday. This excerpt was written four years ago.

There is a running total of the cost of wars since 2001 on this web site. I would quote a figure but the cost tally is running so fast that by the time you would read it, the sum total would be wrong. Hopefully, it will still be only $974 billion by tomorrow. Costs in 2006 were running at 200 million dollars per day.

When one reads that the true benefactors of most of this war time turmoil have been the oil companies and those who are stockholders, it is a little hard to swallow. We are spending trillions of dollars not to make the United States safer but to make world corporations wealthier.

Of course the other main benefactor of constant war is the military industrial complex that provides the ships, the planes, the vehicles, the tanks, the uniforms, the robots, the this, the that, the this, the that…ad infinatum ad nauseum. I can’t even begin to find out how much those corporations take in every year. The amounts must truly be staggering. And the Pentagon goes to Congress every year for more and more.

America, for at least the last twenty-five years, has had priorities all discombobulated as far as I’m concerned. Where are the Tea Party members who are vocal about the true costs of war?

They are vocal about health care because they can be. This bill has had one focus and has been presented pretty much in whole. The expenditures for war have been more stealthfully withdrawn from the seemingingly bottomless pockets of the American taxpayer…all because we are kept unaware of how much military pickpocketers have been spending.

I would not protest the training and use of the National Guard if it were indeed what the name implies…troops who guard the nation. Our nation. I see the role of the national guard as participating in ways to help citizens in times of violent unrest (not like Kent State, however) to keep civil obedience in check. I see them called in times of national disaster. I think they should be ready to serve anywhere within the United States and should not be required to be on the front lines of any war outside the United States. They are citizen soldiers and should be held in reserve for just that. Instead they are being used as regular soldiers to fight wars in countries where we have no business fighting for reasons we have no business having. I would not mind my tax dollars going to a National Guard being used in that manner. Their own website claims they are to protect their nation whenever they are called. I don’t see what they have been doing is protecting our nation.

I realize that my blog is not read by many people. It still is, overall, my thoughts in a mostly daily journal. I don’t expect many comments about what I have written today, but I’m hoping to find a few kindred persons who agree with me about my priorities.

I’ve mainly written to express my frustration over Americans willing to view health care as a privilege rather than a right and a willingness to deny people coverage if it can’t be afforded. Too many Americans have died for lack of healthcare. Many of them because they can’t afford it but have an income above what they can make for Medicaid. Many of them have died because insurance companies deny them coverage. I heard a story on NPR last week about a woman who, two days before her mastectomy was denied coverage because she had not declared at one time she had acne. There are too many horror stories to even begin.

Yes, health care costs, but like basic education, there should,in my opinion, be a basic floor. I would much rather see American people healed than people around the world destroyed in war. What is your opinion?

Namaste. Attic Annie

1 Comment

Filed under Casual conversation, diary, economics, general topics, life, musings, Uncategorized

One response to “Are health care protestors protesting the right issues?

  1. freedomactionnow

    It’s true that there are problems with health care as it is now. But I believe that the plan they rammed down our throats (voted on at midnight Sunday) will do less than they’ve tried to make us think.

    I could go on about the problems with the Bill – and I do on my blog – but I won’t do that here. It’s a complex problem, and there are no simple answers to complex problems.

    We see too clearly how it works out in other countries. Canada, for instance: people come here for operations, because they can’t get them there – or if they can get them, there’s a 6-month wait.

    I can’t argue with your stand on the National Guard. I think originally, the idea was: Army defends outside the borders, the Guard, inside. The Army is still restricted to Outside.

    You’re definitely right about the need – and the use for – volunteers. But I get the impression that the Government doesn’t like that – they want to control who gets what from whom.

    “When one reads that the true benefactors of most of this war time turmoil have been the oil companies and those who are stockholders, it is a little hard to swallow.” Maybe that’s because it isn’t true. If it really were “for the oil”, we could have bought it much more cheaply from the countries, and everybody would have been happier.