Natural Highs


Good morning. Another Sunday. I hope the team you want to win triumphs today for you. It will give you a natural high. Since the Cowboys aren’t playing, I’m relatively neutral. I’ll pull for the Saints for the way they have brought a sense of spirit back to New Orleans, a city still far from bouncing back to pre-Katrina. I’ll pull for the Colts because it was only a moderately short drive from my home as a child to Indiana. Here in Texas we call that distance a Sunday afternoon drive.

Speaking of natural highs, I’m borrowing a list from a daily newsletter I receive called Positive Christianity. It applies to everyone, however, not just Christians. The author of that site admitted he did not compile the list himself so I don’t feel bad borrowing something that has already been borrowed.

I’ve been through a lot the last six months…sold my house, buyers backed out, bought a house, had to stop before the real estate agent presented the contract, found a new friend, lost a new friend all because of “sparks” or the lack of them. I visited my only son and realized once again how far apart not only in miles (he lives in Japan) but also in sense of family we have become. I was excited about a new position I would have as a volunteer only to find out that job no longer existed. There had been a definite lack of communication.

My causes for lows are very minor compared to the losses some people have recently suffered. People have lost jobs and homes and loved ones who have served in the military. They or their family members havesuffered from catastrophic diseases which so far I have managed to avoid. That makes my life fantasic compared to the sorrows of many.

Everyone, regardless of circumstances, wishes to have a natural high. I just remembered a story which illustrates what a natural high can do for attitude.

There was a young boy who wished for a pony for his birthday. Instead of receiving the pony, he was sent by his uncaring foster family  to the barn to muck out the stables. The barn stalls had not been tended to in a long time. They were always making him do chores which they did not wish to do. They specialized in trying to make him feel bad.

He had been out in the barn about fifteen minutes when they went out to tease him. They found him whistling and in very high spirits.

When they asked him why he was so happy, he replied, ” With all this s&*t in these stalls, there’s got to be a pony in here somewheres.” Talk about a positive attitude! Here’s the list of things that might give you a natural high.

 
Natural Highs

1. Falling in love. Yes, I still remember that feeling…several times.
2. Laughing so hard your face hurts.
3. A hot shower with moisturizing liquid soap so smooth on my skin.  
4. No lines at the supermarket.
5. A special glance or friendly smile.
6. Getting mail, email or snail mail.
7. Taking a drive on a pretty road, especially in spring when the wildflowers bloom.  
8. Hearing your favorite song on the radio.
9. Lying in bed listening to the rain outside, knowing you don’t have to go out into it since you retired, or running out into it if you did a rain dance the day before.   
10. Hot towels fresh out of the dryer.
11. Chocolate milkshake (vanilla or strawberry).
12. A bubble bath.
13. Giggling.
15. The beach.
16. Finding a 20 dollar bill in your coat from last winter.
17. Laughing at yourself.
18. Looking into someone’s eyes and knowing he/she loves you. Currently that is just my dog Ri-Leigh but there’s always hope.  
19. Unexpected  happy phone calls that last for a long time.
20. Wading in public fountains.
21. Laughing for absolutely no reason at all.
22. Having someone tell you that you’re beautiful.
23. Laughing at an inside joke with FRIENDS
24.Accidentally overhearing someone say something nice about you or receiving a complement.
25. Waking up and realizing you still have a few hours left to sleep
26. Your first kiss (either the very first or with a new partner).
27. Making new friends or spending time with old ones.
28. Enjoying yourself so much you can act like a kid again.
29. Having someone play with your hair or massage your shoulders.
30. Sweet dreams in fresh bed linens.
31. Hot chocolate or spiced chi with cream.
32. Road trips with friends.
33. Sitting on gliders with friends wasiting time talking about non-important things.
34. Making chili in the winter.
35. Having your friends send you homemade goodies.
36. Holding hands with someone you care about.
37. Running into an old friend and picking up right where you left off years ago.
38. Watching the expression on someone’s face as they open a much desired present from you.
39. Watching the sunrise or sunset.  
40. Getting out of bed every morning and being grateful for another beautiful day.
41. Knowing that somebody misses you.
42. Getting a hug from someone you care about deeply.
43. Knowing you’ve done the right thing, no matter what other people think.

The person who composed this list left it at 43. I have changed several of these just to make it more my own. He had borrowed it from someone else so I don’t feel badly about borrowing or changing it to suit my needs.

He suggested that before you go to bed on the day you read this, that you take the time to add just seven more to personalize the list and make it your own. Then, whenever you start feeling low, whip out the list and think of all the little really important things that can make you truly happy that don’t cost a penny. Enjoy your Sunday. I haven’t been to church in two weeks but I’ve decided I’ve had enough Sunday moping. I’m going again before I get out of the habit. Namaste. Attic Annie

Comments Off on Natural Highs

Filed under Casual conversation, diary, general topics, life, musings, spirituality

Comments are closed.