Heading to Labor and Delivery


This is my first day to volunteer. I have to be there at 8 am and the parking is about a 10 minute walk from the floor so, even though I’ve been awake since 5, I’ve managed to waste time until now. It takes about 15 minutes to find a place to park.

I’d love to know what’s going on with my computer. My title this morning was “Heading to L & D” When it posted, it posted as L & D. I tried it again. The same thing happened. This is a first to have my titles changed. Lot’s of other stuff happens that I don’t understand either.

Would you believe it is once again cold this morning? I have to stop by the volunteer office earlier than 8 to sign in. I forgot to ask them where I stow my coat. Perhaps this afternoon I’ll have enough to blog on for my first day experiences.

I got there by 7:50. There was a locked gate to the volunteer area. I had greeeted another woman in the elevator. She noticed me just standing there and informed me I could take the elevator next to the one I was on. It has a rear opening door. I did that and waited behind the gate for fifteen minutes. The coordinator who was going to be there by 7:55 arrived at 8:10.

It is now 12:50 and I am home once again. It seems Doula Dreams in Delivery are Down the Drain. There is a little glitch in communications. I was not aware that I would not be having ANY patient contact whatsoever. I was told I would not be allowed to perform any medical procedures. I didn’t perceive any other message. The patients were securely behind closed doors. Seems they HAD the program I was interested in at one time, but the Director eliminated it. So much for the other volunteer coordinator thinking it was a great idea. I talked with one of the females (can’t tell nurses from aides) there when she asked what I wanted to do. When I mentioned being a birth companion she said, and I QUOTE, “They just aren’t needed anymore since we started using epidurals.” OOMPH! Less said on that subject the better.

Since L & D had no need of any services for me, I walked back to the volunteer services and was walked over to NICU. No one seemed to know what a volunteer could do there. A nurse’s aide suggested I help with the laundry.  I folded wash cloths, blankets, pillow cases, and undershirts and delivered them to the individual babies’ drawers. I folded and folded. After 3 hours the nurses’ aide came over and said she didn’t mean the whole cart. I was practicing chanting to myself, “There are no menial jobs when one is in service to another.” I really did mean it.

I aksed one of the nurses there what volunteers usuallly did. It seems not much. They used to have volunteer rockers. That’s what my friend does. That program is now eliminated. She’s only been doing it for a few months. I didn’t expect to be allowed to do it the first day. but I did hope I could work my way into that position.

When I went back to the volunteer office, the coordinator who worked with my half the alphabet said, “I told you that when I mentioned there were no rockers.” No, what she told me was there were no rockers in the Newborn, not in the NICU…not when my friend has only been doing it herself for a few months! Oh well.

As soon as I develop a Plan B I’ll let you know.

Talk with you later. Namaste. Attic Annie

2 Comments

Filed under Casual conversation, diary, general topics, life, musings, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Heading to Labor and Delivery

  1. “When it posted, it posted as L & D. ”

    You probably know this already, but &-amp-; is html for “&”. It should have showed up on the screen as “&”.

    Sorry to hear about the volunteer program. It must be frustrating. Most likely, the hospital is working under the “not invented here” and “this is the way we’ve always done it” management systems.

    Don’t give up.

    • atticannie

      I was surprised that they had the program and it was cancelled. With delivering 6500 babies a year I guess they don’t have time to supervise volunteers. Plus hospitals are much more under the gun by accreditation agencies. There are lawyers lurking in every corner of every potential victim’s room all over the US. What I found so totally sad was the comment about having epidurals now so companions aren’t needed. Ouch!