A call to action from Andrew Harvey


I guess I am getting a little lax about posting on time. I try to write my blogs the day before so they will be posted at 6 am central USA time. I’m starting to slip a little.

Once again for the second Sunday in a row I have actually contemplated staying in bed and not going to church. Once again, I got up, showered, and dressed and made it only a few minutes late. I was not the last one to class.

We are discussing a book published in 1998 by Joseph Jaworksi called Synchronicity The Inner Path of Leadership. When we started reading it, I judged it prematurely as not having much meat in it. However, it seems the thoughts in it are bringing up all kinds of comments from the class members. The chapters are very short and written in a much more conversational than textbook form. We seem to be taking only one chapter at a time due to all the sharing.

The chapter we discussed today was 8. The Dream.  Something in the first paragraph caught my attention. The author was talking about having “experiences involving the loss of boundaries where my sense of identity expanded to include God and the entire universe.”

I identified with that. As a child, I always felt so many boundaries and walls keeping me away, especially from God. God was some old man UP in heaven while I was a little child DOWN here on earth with a boundary between that could never be breached. Since I have begun questioning my beliefs and expanding my ideas of ONE God within us, The boundaries are disappearing. I am still taking baby steps in that regard but I am still going forward. This idea of loss of boundaries “is central to every major religion, including Judaism, Islam, Christianity, Hinduism, Buddhism, and Taoism.”

Having come from a background of a much more restricted thinking, at first this idea was very difficult to comprehend. Although there were several ideas discussed in this chapter the one that resonated the most with me was “the physical survival of the human race depends on a radical change of the human heart. This is a call to service that will take great courage–to leave what we have and move out, not without fear, but without succumbing to that fear. It is a call to redefine what is possible, to see a vision of a new world and to be willing to undertake, step-by-step, what is necessary in concrete terms to achieve that vision.

It was my Sunday to usher so, in spite of a headache, I headed for the sanctuary. I think my head must have been twisted in my sleep last night so my neck was stiff. I was soon to be blessed to hear an truly amazing person. Our church brings in about four speakers a year. Today it was Andrew Harvey.  I had never heard of him, but that was not unusual. There are more people “out there” whom I have not encountered than that I have. He spoke on the topic “Passion in Action, Sacred Practices for a Dangerous World”. He is the founder of the Institute for Sacred Activism operating out of Chicago. However, if you look at this man’s schedule, he is traveling all over the world with his message of the urgency to become active in changing the world.

What he said sounded very familiar. I have spoken about some of the issues in my blogs myself. He said the US is in a protective dome. The citizens are only receiving the media messages that the big corporations wish us to learn about. He claims we are really quite ignorant about what is going on in the rest of the world. Please do visit his website and learn more about him. He is really quite impressive as far as the people he has met and learned from, and the extent to which he is willing to travel to get his word out. He was extremely passionate in his presentation. The attention of every person in the sanctuary was riveted upon him for the entire talk.According to our church bulletin, “Andrew  Harvey believes that everyone has a direct connection to the divine and that finding this direct connection is the clue to the kind of radical self empowerment that can help you become a passionate, peaceful and brave sacred activist.

He certainly got my attention today and reinforced my strength of resolution to do the volunteer work that I envision. What better way is there to change the world than to help young, terrified, lonely women to give birth with peace and joy in their hearts instead. Just think of the difference in hormones that would be reaching those newborn babies and their calm, accepting mothers. Namaste. Attic Annie

1 Comment

Filed under Casual conversation, diary, general topics, life, musings, spirituality

One response to “A call to action from Andrew Harvey

  1. Thanks for this site. Extremely informative article.