I wish you “enough”


Hi. Welcome to the attic. It’s nice and warm and cozy up here. It’s a great place to chat by the fire. Come on in and warm yourself. I have a pot of my favorite tea, decaf chai, on the counter. Please help yourself. If there is anyone reading this who knows how to photoshop, can you turn this bare attic into a really cozy place to talk? We’ll call this the “before” attic.

I want to share some thoughts with you that I’ve read several times. They are worth passing along.

A father and daughter were saying good-bye at the airport. Before they parted, they each said to the other, “I wish you enough”. When the man was asked what he meant by that, he said that saying had been handed down in his family for a long time.
I find the philosophy of wishing “enough” to be much more realistic than wishing someone “all”. I’ve heard people say, “I wish you all the luck in the world”. Obviously, that is an impossible wish. No one needs more than “enough” in this life time. Having “all” sometimes results in sad endings when we don’t know how to handle the excess.  The following is the wish list that was published for wishing “enough” for someone. What would you add to that list if you had someone important to you in your life?

“I wish you enough sun to keep your attitude bright.
I wish you enough rain to appreciate the sun more.
I wish you enough happiness to keep your spirit alive.
I wish you enough pain so that the smallest joys in life appear much bigger.
I wish you enough gain to satisfy your wanting.
I wish you enough loss to appreciate all that you possess.
I wish enough ‘Hello’s’ to get you through the final ‘Good-bye.’”

Without knowing pain, we can’t fully appreciate pleasure. Without sadness, we can’t feel boundless joy.

I have found that my travel along my life’s path has been a mixed bag. Looking back over the last sixty years I realize I truly have had “enough”. Yes, there were times of sadness but there have also been times of joy.

I lost my mother at an early age, but I gained other women in my life who looked after me and taught me things I needed to know. I just was too dumb to appreciate them at the time. I concentrated on my loss rather than acknowledging my gain.

I have always had an adversarial relationship with my sister. I’ve always wanted a closeness with her that, for whatever reason, we have never achieved. While that makes me sad, I have discovered more “sisters” over the years, including cousins, who have willingly accepted that role and my closeness with them has more than compensated for the lack of closeness with my sister. I always hope that some day what I have to offer my sister will be enough.

My marriage to my ex was a sad mistake. I married for all the wrong reasons. I had more than “enough” grief during those ten years. However, having a son who has turned out to be a fine man, with what appears to be a strong moral compass, is a joy. Yes, we have had our share of spats, and yes, he has chosen to live on the other side of the world, but he gives me “enough’ to make me feel a person of value. I lacked that feeling when I was married to his father. I now have “enough” to last me the rest of this life.

I felt sorrow when I had to drop out of the nursing program in college. Yet, the thirty years I spent in the elementary classroom was very satisfying instead. It gave me “enough” feelings that I was still in a position of service and I was needed to do what I was doing. The joy I feel when I reconnect with former students and hear of their successes is “enough’ to make me feel this life was not ill spent.

How does one measure “enough”? I guess at the end of the day when I can climb into a warm bed, knowing in the morning I’ll still have heat and light and food to eat, is enough. Knowing I am living in such a manner that I, within reason, can do anything I wish to do, without being in debt is enough. I’m glad my wishes are simple.

Knowing that my latest set of lab tests has come back looking better than they have in years, is enough to ensure me that I have more time on this planet to continue to enjoy what I have. Although I still have many improvements to make before I am perfectly healthy, I am making “enough” progress to make both myself and my doctor pleased.

I have learned if I want more I have to give more. That has been a tough lesson to learn for someone growing up thinking she had nothing of value that anyone else would want. I give anyway.

There’s a woman at church going through marital problems. It’s difficult because both she and her husband continue to participate in activities. I don’t know her too well, but I know her well enough to tell her I was glad to see her after she had been absent for a couple of weeks. Last week she told me how she felt when I made that comment to her. She was very comforted by it. That was “enough’ to make me realize I can make a difference in someone’s day. I told her “I’ve been there. I’m always available to listen.” That was “enough” for her to know that someone did care.

I have been blessed with not being very materialistic. I never appreciated the fact that so many people had to wear clothing with someone else’s name plastered across their chests or their butts. I am smart enough to know that what’s on the outside is nothing compared to what is on the inside. To me clothes are coverings, shoes protect, cars get you from point a to b, jewelry is nice but I can’t tell the difference between costume and the real thing. To me, that is “enough”. There are so many people in the US who are slaves to fashion and to “keeping up with the Joneses”. I wish them “enough” to make them satisfied, whatever that level of satisfaction may be. Hopefully that will quiet the longings in their heart for compensation for what is lacking in their lives.

I have been blogging since July. I never thought something I wrote would be read by over 17,500 people in 130 countries before the end of the year. I am experiencing that joy. To know that some people are enjoying what I have to say is “enough” to make me very happy. I now have fifteen subscribers. I hope those fifteen continue to feel my blogs are “enough”.

I am overflowing with the feelings of “enough”. It is my wish for you for the New Year, that you find “enough” in your life too. Namaste. Attic Annie

2 Comments

Filed under Casual conversation, diary, friendship, general topics, life, relationships, Uncategorized

2 responses to “I wish you “enough”

  1. atticannie

    I am really trying, Mike. It really feels good. I’m a mall’s greatest nightmare, but it feels too good to give rather than spend it on myself. I wish you “enough” this holiday season. AA

  2. I think the problem with most of us is that we don’t know when “enough” is “enough”. Looks like you’ve got that one covered.