Sunday Morning Thinking in the Rain again


Good morning. Unfortunately my computer is ill. She just won’t let me do a whole lot of things any more. Until at least the 30th she will be in the shop in the competent hands of a great computer guru who swears he will strip her down, tear out her insides, and return her to me as good as new. I’m counting on it. In the meaning, I’m recycling blogs for the next three days that I really liked writing. I hope you like them too if you are new to my blog. Namaste. Attic Annie

]
Sunday Morning by Maroon 5

Good morning. I know that today is Monday but I’m writing this on Sunday morning and I can hear the rain outside my patio door. The sounds of rain and early morning coolness gives me opportunity to think on a different level before I head off to church…my own meditation time so to speak.

Here are the lyrics to this song:

Sunday morning rain is falling
Steal some covers share some skin
Clouds are shrouding us in moments unforgettable
You twist to fit the mold that I am in

But things just get so crazy living life gets hard to do
And I would gladly hit the road get up and go if I knew
That someday it would bring me back to you
That someday it would bring me back to you

That may be all I need
In darkness she is all I see
Come and rest your bones with me
Driving slow on sunday morning
And I never want to leave

Fingers trace your every outline
Paint a picture with my hands
Back and forth we sway like branches in a storm
Change the weather still together when it ends

That may be all I need
In darkness she is all I see
Come and rest your bones with me
Driving slow on sunday morning
And I never want to leave

But things just get so crazy living life gets hard to do
Sunday morning rain is falling and I’m calling out to you
Singing someday it’ll bring me back to you
Find a way to bring myself home to you

And you may not know
That may be all I need
In darkness she is all I see
Come and rest your bones with me
Driving slow?

Now I know this song is about a man singing a love song to a woman, but it’s Sunday morning and it’s raining like I said. So I’m thinking about another interpretation for the lyrics. Just as many Christian commentators interpret the Song of Songs (of Solomon) as a picture of the Church as the Bride of Christ, I’d like to interpret this song as a picture of me and my relationship to God.

Doesn’t God invite us to share covers? Covers keep us warm and give us comfort and a sense of protection. S/He is there to provide the covers for us. There are times when we need to get “skin to skin”…to be with God without the barriers that clothing and external accoutrements provide. Nothing around to hide us…just us and Her/ Him.
God made woman
6. And a mist ascended from the earth and watered the entire surface of the ground.
7. And the Lord God formed man of dust from the ground, and He breathed into his nostrils the soul of life, and man became a living soul.

Doesn’t God continue to form us out of clay? What else are we but the food we eat grown in the soil, the water we drink, and the air we breathe? We continue to be clay formed by the “hands” of God. What is clay but earth and water? “Fingers trace our every outline, paint a picture with My [God’s] hands.”

Gen. 2:25  And they were both naked, the man and his wife, and were not ashamed. God did not intend us to be ashamed of our nakedness. Clothing was invented by human hands, not God’s.

Romans 12:1-2 “And so, dear Christian friends, I plead with you to give your bodies to God. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice-the kind he will accept. When you think of what he has done for you, is this too much to ask? Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will know what God wants you to do, and you will know how good and pleasing and perfect his will really is.”
Doesn’t God invite us to come to Him/Her to “rest our bones” so to speak? Matthew 11:28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

Life is hard. There is no one in this world who can go completely through life without some trials… “things just get so crazy living life gets hard to do
Sunday morning rain is falling and I’m calling out to you
Singing someday it’ll bring me back to you
Find a way to bring myself home to you”

When we leave God…because we are the ones who do the leaving…we always strive to be brought back home again. To find ourselves once more in the arms of God. We call out to God. S/He is all we can see in the darkness.

Back and forth we sway like branches in a storm. When the storms of life hit us, doesn’t it give us comfort to know that God is there swaying with us, and is still with us when the weather changes and the storms end?

When we leave God, and most of us at some times in our lives do just that, we can rest assured in knowing that road we take can lead us back again. The Prodigal Son left and went out into the world, but the same road he left on was the same one which led him back home again. I know now at this point in my life, there is nothing I have done (or hopefully will never) do in the future that keeps me from the road back to God.

I am sometimes saddened it has taken me this many years to begin to come to this realization. But I am thankful I at least have arrived back home after so many years thinking I was by myself out on the road. I rejoice that I still have the rest of my life, however long or short it may be, to know my road is now near the end where it began on a strong spiritual path. Have a good Monday morning. Namaste. Attic Annie

Namaste

1 Comment

Filed under Casual conversation, diary, general topics, humor, life, musings, relationships, spirituality, transition, Uncategorized

One response to “Sunday Morning Thinking in the Rain again

  1. 06mickey

    hmmm…interesting post. got me thinking