Women’s Soccer Violence and Girl Gangs


If you watched the news yesterday you viewed the video of Elizabeth Lambert playing soccer for UNM against BYU.

 It has long been established that men are playing rougher and more deliberately aiming to injure their opponents when they play sports. I do not like to watch sports all that much for that reason. I hate to see people getting injured. Fans expect in some cases to see blood and yell things like “Kill ’em”.

Now it seems women are playing rougher as well. I am all in favor of women playing any sports for which they are qualified. However, it is deeply disturbing when they get to the point where they, like men,  think physical violence during the game is acceptable. It is even more disturbing when the officials stand by and do not seem to catch them in that act. I thought that is why they were on the field in the first place.

Elizabeth Lambert is a young woman who decided that the rules of the game were not for her. She intentionally acted in a way that was meant to physically hurt her opponents. In the game of soccer you get a red card for the actions she displayed. She didn’t get one. Several of her actions were not seen by any of the officials. The coach didn’t pull her out of the game. She finally received a yellow card which is a warning.

A sport is  considered to be an organized, competitive and skillful physical activity. It  requires commitment and fair play or what is commonly referred to as good sportsmanship. She forgot the fair play aspect of the game. She was competitive and skillful but she took it upon herself to cross the line. Their was no sportsmanship or fair play in any of her actions.

Now I am thankful that the days when young women never did any competitive physical activity are long gone. They got plenty of physical activity just doing all the work that was required around the house, unless their fathers were in a position to hire a maid. They were expected to sit primly in the parlour and to behave in all ways proper. It must have been an excruciatingly boring life. I am glad to see that the pendulum of public opinion of feminine propriety has swung to allow for more freedom to live. However, I am greatly disturbed at how far it has swung.

It is natural to assume that there are many women who are by nature  aggressive. We were not all born passive and docile. That is why events like roller derby can be so popular. But that game is purposefully physical with its booty blocks, hipchecks, and whipping the jammer around the track. The gear is designed to protect the body. There are rules to this game as well and those who break the rules serve time in the penalty box. The same holds true for those women who play ice hockey, another very physical sport.

There is a difference to me, however, between being physically aggressive on the field of play according to agreed upon rules and showing physical violence. We, in America, are seeing increased levels of girls using physical violence to show their power. Girls can be even more vicious in their physical fighting than boys. It is becoming more commonplace, and it doesn’t seem that there are enough people to deal with this trend. Elizabeth Lambert was physically violent on the field. Other girls are physically violent on the streets. It is a scary thought to me when women change like that. Women are supposed to be the glue that holds the culture together.

My friend Maxine claims that she thinks girls have always been as physically aggressive and violent as they are now. When I told her about my topic for this blog she said, “I grew up in the mountains. I saw some pretty bad fights while I was growing up. Nobody messes with a mountain girl.” But then she went on to admit that most of the fights were verbal. That has been the case forever. Girls and women have in the past used words as weapons.

Has that changed? I think it has. I think we are getting much more physical in our interactions. Are girls and young women learning that such behavior is an acceptable mode of expression? Will there continue to be more sports violence perpetrated by women and gang violence among girls? Who is to stop them? Is there anyone who wants to stop them? Or have we given up on any sense of civility in our society and just living our daily lives ignoring what is happening? Isn’t this one of the portents of a decaying and declining culture? Are these the canaries in the mine? Who or what is responsible for starting the pendulum back toward the middle again? Does anybody care? Namaste Attic Annie

Here is an update interview with Lambert.

106 Comments

Filed under Casual conversation, general topics, life, musings, Uncategorized

106 responses to “Women’s Soccer Violence and Girl Gangs

  1. Legendary post, I enjoy this spectacular site,I found you along freshly pressed!

    Please do check my personal fascinating training blog.

  2. Hiya!. Thanks for the info. I’ve been digging around looking some info up for shool, but i think i’m getting lost!. Yahoo lead me here – good for you i suppose! Keep up the good work. I will be coming back in a couple of days to see if there is any more info.

  3. ajit jhangiani

    not sure why one separates violence in men and violence in women, does that not create more of a separation between men and women?

    • atticannie

      I agree. We’ve culturally accepted violence in men forever. That doesn’t mean women should tread the same path. The ideal would be for both to become less violent

  4. marcnoon

    I didn’t realize it was that rough. But it pales in comparison to womens boxing or even rugby. Come’on!!!

    • atticannie

      I realize that women’s boxing and rugby are rough. That wasn’t the point. Even boxing has rules of contact. I’ve never seen rugby but it’s probably as rough as field hockey. It’s the INTENTIONAL desire to cause bodiy harm that concerns me.

  5. I do think sports represent an unappropriated set of rules in some cases (ie. football, hockey, etc) however most of these sports were created by men and lets face it, men have a weird fetish for wrestling, body-checking, dropping-the-gloves-and-bringing-the-fists-out type of endevours. Perhaps women need to step up and create some of our own sports, with out own rules, and stop trying to fit into their box when we don’t agree with the way some sports are played?

    http://twitter.com/lindsaylorusso

    • atticannie

      Perhaps you are right. New games are developed frequently. In the meantime, however, I’d like to the games we have now played with the appropriate attitude of fair play for both men and women.

  6. Games give the lesson of discipline in the life and she should change her behavior!

  7. I like your opinion. women are not supposed to act like men. thereby losing her feminine nature.
    I will probably be linked with the rules of the religion Islam. not that I defend my religion. but in Islam governed how attitudes and behaviors of women should be. sorry if it is not acceptable. 🙂

    • atticannie

      Every society should be free to establish the rules that work for them as long as the rules do not intentionally suppress into submission any members of that society solely according to their gender. That is just MY opinion. I am not that familiar with Islam to comment further. In the area of athletics, I see an opportunity for women that would not possibly be allowed in your culture and I think it is good. I do not see them acting like men. However, in MY opinion, men in athletics should not play with the intention of hurting their opponents either. So, in those cases of intentional harm, I agree that women are not supposed to act like them. Please come back and comment more often. This is the way we get to know each other.

  8. Daniela

    this was horrible.

    • atticannie

      I agree. I think as a result, however, more players will be more careful as to how they play the game. I’m afraid Ms. Lambert will deal with the consequences of the choice of “letting her emotions run away with her” far after this season.

  9. monmon29

    It’s sad to see a sport like this that’s supposed to be organized with millions of people watching being unruly. Wait, I said millions, okay, maybe thousands and I think there is no way anyone could not have seen that.

    If an official can’t give judgement through a video replay, then there exists a very vulnerable backdoor on the rules, mights as well have none, they’re not observed, thus becoming useless anyway.

    But then again, it could all be a stunt for the ratings. Now the video’s gone viral, and more people will watch it to have their taste of catfights. A sad reality, but people can really be even more horrible than any animal known to the planet.

  10. warlock6

    is that lady mad?? i think that women should not play a sport whick makes them to be ruder and less feminine. ladies should always be ladies but not men in skirts!

    • atticannie

      I disagree about women playing sports. Women should be allowed to play any sports they are physically capable of playing. A woman can play and after the game still maintain her “femininity”…behavior that is pleasing to some men. There is a wide range of physiques and behaviors in all the women on the planet. We have set up the ideal woman as a being who is very feminine. In reality, only a small percentage fit into that mold, but the world says this is what you should be.

    • atticannie

      Be careful. There are probably some men in Scotland that might not like that comparison.

      EMAILING FOR THE GREATER GOOD Join me

  11. well, i love soccer and i love women very much but i hate violence. I think women dosn’t suitable with violence, they identical with tenderness. So, stop the violence in every aspects of lifes.

    • atticannie

      I also hate violence. That was the point of my blog. I don’t believe men are suitable for violence either. Thank you for your comment.

      EMAILING FOR THE GREATER GOOD Join me

  12. Juan Carlos

    Creo que el albitro esta ciego… humm creo que son todos ciegos no? 😉

  13. There is nothing to worry about. The universal laws are working perfectly. Always have, always will, in spite of us not because of us.

    Men are men and women are women – again in spite of us, not because of us and no matter how hard we try to dissolve the XY and the XX.

    It’s just that the internet is giving us the opportunity to open all the closets-including the attic.

    Come talk if you’d like.

  14. woman should not playing football

  15. Nothing new in this Atticanni.

    Violence and people are natural partners.

    Women are people too, that’s the unusual bit here perhaps!

    Women in sport are a lot more visible than women normally are.

    • atticannie

      I agree I haven’t said anything new. I’m just concerned with what I perceive as a growing trend in violence among women and girls. You’ll notice I also talked about gang violence among girls.

  16. lg

    i don’t think we are being fair to lambert. this video starts 3 seconds late and does not show how the other player had just elbowed her in order to provoke a response.

    the second infraction comes in retaliation to lambert being pinched in the upper right thigh near the genital area if you look closely you’ll see that the other girl still has lambert’s shorts in her grip as she’s being thrown to the ground.

    i don’t like the idea of anyone hitting another person but these other women also deserve suspensions as well as lambert who acted in retaliation.

    • atticannie

      There are always two sides to the story. If the opposing teams were the cause of retalliation on the part of Lambert then I agree they should be red carded as well. I agree with you. Unfortunately, it was Lambert that was caught on the video. She had a choice to play or not play with good sportsmanship and she was the one who got caught.

    • http://sports.espn.go.com/ncaa/news/story?id=4629837

      Watch this video and then you tell me that we’re judging Lambert too harshly. The two actions that are shown in the Youtube video at the top of this blog are barely the tip of the iceberg of this young woman’s problems.
      Yes, the Provo player does, what appears to be, elbow Lambert but what about the rest of the events? As for the supposed grabbing of her thigh, I’m not seeing what you are. I see the Provo player grab her shorts, not any actual body part. If you watch the video carefully look at her hand and you’ll see that the fingers are closed in tightly together, not far apart which is what they would be IF they were grabbing the thigh.

      This woman is out of control.

      • atticannie

        You guys have sharper eyes than I do. The ESPN banner is directly over the hand of the Provo player. I can’t tell what is happening. I would have said she was pushing Lambert back, but then I’m not seeing it all.

        EMAILING FOR THE GREATER GOOD Join me

  17. I think the points made reflect an isolationist view of the world -as we know, this is not just about soccer or even sport (although Bob Dylan’s line “money doesn’t talk – it swears” is relevant to sport nowadays). What the discussion should evolve into is about human values, human respect and the disappointing level of acceptance of escalating violence and aggression. We make our men and women of war ‘heroes and heroines’ but less is made of teachers, like our author, who are often in the front line of society. Take a look at the bigger picture – look at the arms trade, child soldiers, sexual abuse ..I can go on..there seem to be so many issues that we should be taking seriously yet we can stand up and be counted. Some protest on the streets about so called ‘right to life’ then happily go and practice their gun slinging skills or vote for more money for defense. We live in a world that is torn by hypocrisy. Good posting and very timely.
    Ray
    http://rayharris57.wordpress.com

    • atticannie

      This comment was listed for some reason as spam and I couldn’t respond to it. I agree very much with Ray. I think those of us who do not like to see the troubling trends around us should stand up and say so.

      EMAILING FOR THE GREATER GOOD Join me

      • Steven Harris

        I agree entirely with Ray’s sentiment that we should be striving for greater integrity and less violence, but I disagree about human violence having escalated. I think humans have always been violent but have tried to rationalise or civilise the violence out of people. And yet aggression is one of the reasons humans became the dominant species on this planet. To eradicate it entirely would somehow diminish the species. What we need to do is find ways of chanelling it that do no harm to others, if at all possible.

      • atticannie

        There is a fine line in a game between aggression and violence and passion. A player needs to be aggressive in order to drive the ball down the field. S/he must have passion to have the heart to play the game well. I wouldn’t want either of those to be eliminated or I would get the same thrill out of the game as watching my morning oatmeal cook! It is the intentional violence and the active desire to physically harm the opposing players that I think needs to be checked. It is the desire of the fans to see such mayhem in order to get their adrenaline fix at the expense of others that I see needing attention. Rome wasn’t built in a day but it went down a lot faster than it went up! Those players are not at war and playing for their lives, although we seem to have escalated the importance of the game to that level. But then, how long, theoretically will that last until they are gladiators relying on the crowds to give them a thumbs up?

        EMAILING FOR THE GREATER GOOD Join me

  18. Alberto

    “Judge not” people. And please, generalize not, too.

    • atticannie

      I did not feel I was judging. I was using her as an example of something I see going wrong. If it came across as judging then I need to rewrite. I’m not sure where I generalized but please feel free to point out where I could have been more specific. This is a daily effort on my part to write five or so paragraphs on topics that interest me. It’s not a case where I have a week to write and rewite but I’m always open to positive criticism in order to improve. Thank you.

  19. so interesting…I shall say thank you.Amazing.
    My blog is simple and safe and hope can bring it a stride in advance.
    http://hellochichaoua.wordpress.com.
    I would love to receive your advice and suggestions.
    keep your chin up,
    Aziz

    • atticannie

      I’m not sure I’m in a position to offer advice. I’m just a retired school teacher who can’t stop commenting and asking questions. If you need any advice and suggestions I’d be happy to listen, but I’m not setting myself up as an advice columnist. I’ll check out your blog some time soon.

  20. What disturbed me the most about this, in addition to it being the 2nd (that I know of) such incident to occur at UNM this fall, (I live here in Albuquerque), was the complete lack of emotion on Lambert’s face. As the woman falls Lambert’s demeanor stays thoroughly oblivious, clueless almost. This indicates to me that Lambert has got some serious emotional issues. Her excuse on the evening news was that she “allowed” the tension of the game to get to her and she was sorry for that. Girl, there’s more going on than just the emotion of the game.

    • atticannie

      I noticed her “innocent” face as well. She is, I’m afraid, one of those who sees nothing wrong with her actions. The ends justifies the means. We’ve lived with that in all facets of our society much too long.

      • And it is this issue that scares the most out of me. I just ended a relationship with a man who couldn’t understand why I was so hurt by his betrayal of my trust. This had nothing to do with him having an affair, it was something totally different but the pain is just as bad and he simply can not understand… or doesn’t want to.
        While he is much younger than I, this sort of behaviour is something I have begun seeing more and more across all age & gender lines. Why? I wish I knew. *sigh*

      • atticannie

        Hi Susan, your comment appeared on the women’s soccer blog but it sounds like it is in response to some of the other articles I have read. Betrayal of trust is an issue I am still working with between my ex and I. Are you talking about betryal of trust on the field during a game when you trust that your opponent will play by the rules? I guess in a way the two topics have many similarities.

  21. Montana

    Elizabeth Lambert is a junior at the University of New Mexico, and plays for their soccer team the Lobos originally from California (too bad for California). So, this loser knows they are going in to a game that they will most likely lose and since they do not have the talent to score they resort to this kind of play, it has very minor thought to it than let’s say passisng the ball through your opponents defense and scoring a goal.

    The other issue is the where were the referees, were they all older white men with their tongues out, enamored and unable to call the game objectively (this game had so many penalties that did not get called), I mean what are they getting paid to do. Who has paid these guys off? Do we have to change the game where only women referees can call women games. After watching the video someone was paid off, that is my conclusion.

    And Lizzy, watch you back and please stay out of soccer (you real should be banned, the game does not need people like you in it), so many will be gunning for you now. Who knows maybe you were just drumming up business for your “Occupational Therapy practice”, yah good luck with that, I doubt your bed side manner is any different from your sportsmanship.

  22. I have to second shoutabyss. This type of behavior is so often encouraged, I am not suprised by it, but definitely saddened.

    If winning is the aim, winning with dignity would be a much loftier goal. I think events like this serve as a gut check for all of us. At what cost do we want to “get ahead?”

    • atticannie

      Thank you. Someone who commented earlier said the article was extremely sexist. That was not my intent. My intent was to talk about the slippery slope staring America in the face. Not just the women, but the men, and the fans too. I see this attitude and behavior as beginning to look something like Rome’s thirst for blood.

  23. a female athlete

    I think that your post was extremely sexist. You make it sound like women should not be as aggressive as men. Truthfully, that is completely untrue. In sports, there is no difference in gender. Only in passion.

    • atticannie

      Please see my comment to Cheappartychick. I don’t think physical violence to the degree we have let it happen should be tolerated in ANY sport regardless of whether they are women, men, or fans. One can be aggressive in sports without crossing the line. Playing a sport does not mean one has to intentionally injure an opponent.

  24. The referees were to afraid to eject her from the game. lol

  25. softballgirl78

    I am all for sports and being competitive, but to a certain point. Lambert crossed the line by doing that. It’s only a game, you don’t have to use violence to win.

  26. We cannot blame divorced families or religion or even television because most women do not behave this way. This level of malicious and violent behavior by someone who calls herself an athlete should be dealt with severely. Honestly, if Lambert plays again, I would not step foot on the field without having her searched for weapons. This was such a disgusting example of trying to win through intimidation and violence. Anything but talent.

  27. sticcy

    I saw this on the news like last week and Im going to keep it real I don’t like what I saw this is not sports this is violence she danm near took that others girl’s head off.

    • atticannie

      It was a pretty dangerous move on her part.

      • Danny

        The irony of it all is the soccer teaches discipline, teamwork, strategy, respect for others and is fun. As a child I played before classes started at school, during lunch time and after school with teams. To miss a game by playing illegally would have been awful.
        In reviewing a longer clip on You Tube the referee looks nervous and inexperienced. Also, the girl that got pulled down by her ponytail was actually pulling on Lambert’s pants first so she should have gotten a warning or a yellow card and Lambert should have been given a red card and sent home.

      • atticannie

        I’m sure the short clips I saw didn’t show everything, but I totally agree with what you say.

  28. you write like a 12-yr-old

    • atticannie

      I taught writing to third, fourth, and fifth graders in a gifted ed program. Several of them, even at that age, wrote beautifully. By the time they were 12, they were already winning essay awards. I’ll take that remark as a compliment.

    • atticannie

      I tried to find your blog so that I could learn to write as an adult such as you. I especially noticed your lack of a capital letter on ‘you’ and your lack of a period. Perhaps I am not the only one who writes like a 12 year old.

    • I love your blog raysharma. It’s so barren, I could see Russia from there!

      • atticannie

        Hi Tony, play nice now. I couldn’t find his blog other than to see his comment to me. If you found it, let me know. In the meantime, say hi to Sarah P. Is it getting cold up in Alaska?

    • Steven Harris

      Ray, you write arrogantly and irrelevantly. What it really worth your time and effort just to say something so pointless and petty?

    • freedomactionnow

      I’d be happy to write as well as Annie. (And we all look forward to your blog, should you decide to start.)

      There are two things that make a writer: First, know how to string words into sentences, sentences into paragraphs, and paragraphs into essays. Second, have something to actually talk about.

      Annie has both, in good measure, which is why I keep coming back – along with a lot of other people.

      It’s certainly not easy being a critic. Somebody told Finnish composer Jean Sibelius that the critics didn’t like his latest work. He replied, “Pay no attention to what critics say. No statue has ever been put up to a critic.”

      • atticannie

        Thank you freedom man! I enjoy your comments whether I always answer them or not. Fortunately I am not looking for a statue. One of the guiding forces in my life until recently has been a distinct fear of failure.

  29. It’s sad really. You’d think people who play sports would have more camradarie than that. But in the end, it’s most disturbing that the ref didn’t catch something so blatant as that.

    • atticannie

      I agree. Perhaps referees should be encouraged to be more dilligent. I realize it’s a tough job and they aren’t going to catch all the physical stuff but she gave them several opportunites during that game to catch her.

  30. freedomactionnow

    You made the front page at WordPress again! Good going.

    “Americans in general are becoming more violent and less civil.”

    I think we can put the cause of that on the breakdown of the family unit.

    • atticannie

      I agree. Whenever there is change in the family, it seems to be reflected in the behavior or the young. That being said, however, I do not wish to see us going backwards to the suppression and submission of the wife. Perhaps it is not the breakdown of the family as much as the relative prosperity America has had for several decades when children learned instant gratification and “ME FIRST” attitudes. I just ask questions. I don’t have answers. Thanks for being a fan.

      • I do agree completely with your point that this ME FIRST attitude that requires gratification and fun in every experience has created children that are inept at dealing with frustration and sacrifice. As a long time school teacher, K – 6th grade, I often see children who cannot enjoy doing a good job without the promise of a reward, who do not play fairly if it means losing, and who have a hard time adjusting when they cannot be the center of attention. But I guess it makes for great sales in corporate america when kids have to get what they want in a society that defines love and success according to the value of their material gifts and possessions.
        I think that for the good of her team alone, Lambert should have controlled herself. Instead, she made her team seem like cheaters who could not score even with physical violence and cheap shots.

      • atticannie

        Thank you fellow teacher. We both have seen the same thing. I used to cringe when kids would report how much money they made for their good report cards when I knew they were not completely honest in all things graded.

  31. Considering the environment created in media, TV movies, etc., I’m surprised that this sort of thing doesn’t happen more often.

    • atticannie

      I don’t think anybody really knows how often it happens. It just makes news when someone is caught. I agree with you about the media environment. We used to have to use our imaginiations that something was violent. Now everything is played out on a daily basis.

  32. Crystyan

    the womens shouldn´t play soccer !

    • atticannie

      I disagree. Women should play any sport they desire. To take that option away would be putting women back many decades. Instead women AND men should be taught the value of sportsmanship and fair play.

  33. Interesting post.

    I think soccer only having one official (who cannot be looking at more than one thing at a time) played a role in the player getting away with the cheapshots. Every other collegiate sports use multiple officials to monitor player behavior.

    • atticannie

      Until recently in terms of the history of the sport it was probably deemed unnecessary for there to be more than one. Are you talking about the official on the sidelines/ There’s also the referee and two linesmen. It was pointed out also that her teammates did not try to reign her in. Silence is often viewed as approval.

    • atticannie

      According to the comment submitted just after yours, there are four officials during each game. It’s been a long time since my son played soccer so I can’t remember the job of each one of them but you would think with the number of transgressions this young woman committed ONE of the four would have said SOMETHING.

    • Barry

      NCAA soccer at the Division I level typically has 4 officials, one in the center with assistant referees along the sidelines, and a 4th official who handles timing/substitutions and is a backup for the others if someone is hurt.

      In watching the various replays of the game, this particular clip of the hair pull occurs well after the ball has left the area. The center referee would have followed the ball and should not be looking back at the two players involved. If blame is to be placed on the officials, it should properly be directed the the assistant referee who had coverage responsibilities for the area.

      Having been involved in some ‘ugly’ soccer games over the years, I can attest to the difficulty involved in keeping up with little jabs and digs that occur when your back is turned.

      • atticannie

        I realize that referring is a very difficult job. I’m not so sure she didn’t check out where the officials were before “she let her emotions get to her.”

  34. Danny

    Unfortunately a big problem in football (soccer) is the officiating. There are four officials during each game; the referee, two linesmen and one official on the sidelines.
    One of them should have seen this happening and alerted the referee if he did not see it. One of her teamates should have warned her and told her they would end up playing a person short if she continued.
    In a lot of years watching and playing the beautiful game, I have never seen this happen at a competitive level. Plus soccer in America is more violent than elsewhere in the world because they do not undertand the game. When I came to University in the U.S. I received the most serious injury I ever had playing social football because the American players believe that soccer is like American football and basketball and it is okay to have physical contact with an opposing player. It is not okay and once you deliberately hit an opposing player it is a yellow card. The next time it happens the player is given a red card and sent off.
    Once this simple rule of the game is taught and obeyed the violence will decrease.

    • atticannie

      I didn’t say it, but that was one of my points that I was trying to make. Americans in general are becoming more violent and less civil. It’s time for somebody to start teaching everybody how to “play nice”.

    • atticannie

      Something is not considered taught until it is learned. Coaches are under a lot of pressure to produce winning teams. They may mention the rules but I’m willing to bet many of them don’t emphasize the rules. It would be nice if the rules were followed in EVERY sport. Maybe then young kids wouldn’t get the idea so early that it’s ok to act that way on AND off the field.

      • I agree but I also feel that some behavior we absolutely know is disgusting. Do we really need to teach this young athlete that she should not bite or use a weapon against an opponent too? I think she was frustrated and disregarded many of the rules and figured intimidation might get the opposing players off their game.

      • atticannie

        I’m not certain if you are dismissing her behavior or not. Frustration should not result in disregard for the rules in any game. Heaven forbid athletes begin biting each other or using weapons of the field. They can save that for the streets which was the other part of my blg.

    • Bad referees are also destroying baseball at the moment. Baseball should be a peaceful sports, but when a pitcher “beans” a batter intenally, it’s also a violent act. Especially when the pitch is high and tight.

      I follow football (you call it soccer) quite a lot, but never saw anything close like the video above in FEMALE games. The males usually play it dirty as well, as we saw in some very nasty tackles during the last weekend.

      IMHO a long term ban for Miss Lanbert is the only right answer. I consider her smart when playing for an university team? So no excuses for not to ban her.

      • atticannie

        Why have the males been allowed to play it dirty? It didn’t start out that way. I saw a clip of a player headbutting an opposing player in the genitals yet nothing was done. Perhaps it was after the clip ended, but it didn’t look like it.

  35. Excellent post. This is an extremely eloquent line, “Elizabeth Lambert is a young woman who decided that the rules of the game were not for her.”

    That’s the rub, isn’t it? It isn’t just women. It isn’t just sports. It’s all of us these days with our damn busy lives and the lack of common courtesy that we project (either on purpose or just out of indifference).

    Want to use the ATM? Park in the fire lane rather than use a parking spot. It’ll save you a whopping 40′ of walking. It may not be “violence,” but the concept is exactly the same. We are a society of jerks who all feel the rules don’t apply to us.

    • atticannie

      Thank you. My fear is road rage.

    • atticannie

      My greatest fear is road rage especially on a highway not too far from my house. Talk about not having common courtesy. I agree somewhere in our lives we have produced citizens who feel rules don’t apply to them. I get sad thinking about it.

  36. ilyasafsoh.com

    happy sport

  37. I agree with you on this one. When I first saw this last week, it made me very angry to see that she is allowed to behave like this on the field. If she was a woman of color (any) she would have been noticed and dealt with immediately.
    It’s not the race card, it is the truth.

    • atticannie

      Thank you. At least she was suspended indefinitely in case other players think they could get away with it too.

    • atticannie

      I’m sad you thought to bring this topic up. It is obvious that violence is increasing among all segments of our society.

  38. Steven Harris

    There is still a big divide between women’s football and men’s. Not because of ability, but because of gender pereceptions. This kind of aggression towards other players happens every week in the men’s game. It is rarely big news any more, unless somebody is really hurt from it. When the women’s game get;s to the point that hair-pulling and scrapping become just incidents within a match, equality might be closer.

    • atticannie

      Is that the kind of equality we really want? Perhaps it would be better for men to develop some sportsmanship again as well. Yes, I know about men. That’s what I’ve been talking about. In researching for this blog I saw footage of a man using his head to butt an opposing player in the groin. Is that really necessary? Why must we accept all the violence from either gender?

      • Steven Harris

        GRanted violence is unnecessary from either gender. But I’m not sure it can ever be entirely eradicated from certain sports. Football is a contact sport (unless they want to make it illegal to tackle another player). Contact sports often harbour a festering aggression. It is extremely unsporting but some of the people playing such sports these days haven’t the faintest idea of being sporting whatsoever. For that we might want to blame society rather than the sport.

      • atticannie

        I think holding society is a responsible light was part of what my blog was trying to say.

        EMAILING FOR THE GREATER GOOD Join me

    • atticannie

      That was kind of an unspoken secondary thought about violence in men’s games. Why is it tolerated? What happened to the rules for them? I heard on the radio the other day that there is an increasing number of young men with brain degeneration caused by repeated blows to the head. Duh! Why do coaches and parents encourage this type of trauma? I’m not in favor of this kind of equality. Should anyone be?

  39. I don’t think girls are getting more violent, at least it’s nothing i notice everyday.

    that girl probably has some issues o.O, i wouldn’t blame the sport itself.

    But if i were any of the girls on the other team she would had tasted her medicine.

    • atticannie

      I don’t blame the sport itself. I think soccer is a great game for anyone. I was a soccer mom myself for a number of years. I will agree to disagree about girls getting more violent. I taught in inner city public schools for years and it was an insideous creeping trend over the years. They didn’t come to out and out blows but then again it was elementary school. There was a show of increased aggression.

    • atticannie

      I don’t believe I blamed the sport. What good would it be for the other team to lower their standards to hers? I’m glad you were not one of the other girls. One bad sport was enough.

      • sorry if I sounded too mean I just tryed to place me in the shoes of the other players and thought that I wouldn’t hold myself in a harsher tackle if she had the ball.

        Ofc i wouldn’t pull her hair, directly punch her or in any way be as violent as she was there, she seems to act with pure hate, not only deserving a red card but also a suspention!

        Sorry once again for my emotiv response

      • atticannie

        Hi there. Emotional responses are interesting to read. I may or may not agree with them. I think you and she both said something important about allowing emotions to control the players themselves. It’s hard to be competitive and color within the lines all the time.