From Maestra and Low to Michaelangelo


 pen art 1

pen art 2

 pen art 3

Good morning! How would you like to walk into a room the morning after and be confronted with something like these sculptures? Grotesque and scary, aren’t they? Actually, I found them quite fascinating after my initial reaction. I admired the inventiveness and creativity of the artist. These pictures were from a set of about fifteen pictures sent to me in an email. There was nothing in the email to identify the artist, so once again google came to my rescue. I entered “pencil art sculpture” and the very first listing was what I wanted. Sometimes google makes things so easy to find.

The article not only listed the sculptor of these fantasy creatures, Jennifer Maestre, but it explains in detail how she does it. It seems her initial attraction was to sea urchins with their sharp spines. To make the sculptures, she sharpens hundreds of pencils, drills holes in them and then stitches them together, like stringing together spiny beads. The pencil ends to me makes the figure look shaved while the points almost give a fuzzy look to the body. I don’t think I’d like to cuddle or pet them however.

Her collection can be seen in her Jennifer Maestre Sculpture website. If you are interested in her work, there are several websites that contain interviews in which she explains her motivation and technique.

I have always been fascinated by artwork. 3 -D artwork or sculptures attract me even more. It amazes me how someone can just sit down with a jumble of ideas and create something out of nothing. Just like my friend, Rebecca Low, who works in metals. Behind her studio is a junk pile. It must have tons of rusted, twisted, tortured pieces of metal from any source imaginable. Yet, Rebecca is able to look at this refuse and see the beauty and the whimsy locked within. One of my favorite pieces in her gallery is Carlotta.

carlotta.jpg

“Carlotta–Seduced by an Automobile” has over 200 hours and 2 years of love put into her creation. She is 36″d x 54″w x 84″h and is composed mostly of antique auto parts finished in 12 high-end automotive paint . Her head is a 1936 Ford truck exposed headlight,  her breasts are 1960 Buick tail lights, her behind is a 1963 Volkswagon Beatle bumper and her platform pumps are 1954 Ford bumper guards. Carlotta has on her gold lame top with her black spandex leggings and she winks, blinks, talks and squeals!

eye-cue.gif

 Rebecca is quick to laugh. I can imagine her at work on Carlotta. She must have been tickled every time she found another piece for the outfit of the beautiful Maiden. Just look at those shoulder pads! I wonder if Jay Leno would laugh or cry at the thought of his beloved antique automobiles ending up at art galleries as Carlottas.

 
It’s one thing for an artist to have pieces from which to choose. What has always impressed me the most were those who could look at a piece of non-descript stone and see the figure within. Then, with great precision they are are able to place the chisel against the smooth surface again and again and eventually out comes a magnificent human being or animal, complete with rippling muscles and fantastic physique. Some of the earliest scuptures I ever remember seeing in books were the works of Michaelangelo.  
                                                                                       _Pieta_    Pieta                                       David David
 
 

 The magnificience of Michaelangeo’s work has always completely awed me. Admiration for his talent is beyond measure. His attention to anatomical detail is amazing.

I wonder how many young artists in our world today are compelled to take the time and effort necessary to produce such exquisite works of art. I think once in a while about our demand for the instantaneous and wonder if there are any more Michaelangelos out there who have the determination to see their insights into brilliant potential pieces of art. I wonder if any philanthropists can see the genius potential and are willing to still be patrons to give these artists the time and funding available to be able to complete these masterpieces. I don’t think I would be quite as resentful of the Wall Street multimillionaires who are drawing such obsene salaries and benefits if I knew they were giving a substantial part of their income to the arts so that future Michaelangeos or even Rebeccas or Jennifers who are walking among us can be recognized for their talents and their art preserved for centuries to come.

Namaste y’all. Attic Annie

6 Comments

Filed under Casual conversation, diary, general topics, life, musings, Uncategorized

6 responses to “From Maestra and Low to Michaelangelo

  1. Rebecca Low

    Wow –did you notice the resemblance between David’s pose and Carlotta????????

    • atticannie

      No, I can’t say that I did, but then again I don’t have the artist’s perception that you do. I’ll have to look again! lol
      Please take pictures of Fishy Fishy’s new home when she gets all set up. I’d love to see it.

    • atticannie

      NOW I see it. There IS a resemblance. Bent knee and all. Could you possibly be MichaelangeLOW?

  2. By the time Michaelangelo and Leonardo (among others) got through, Mankind had gone about as far as possible in that realm of Art.

    Same holds true for Mozart. But then along came Beethoven, who stretched that envelope. After him, a few other guys, but eventually, we ran out of envelope-stretchers and came up with “modern music” (like 12-tone and other kinds of unlistenable music). Then even that ran out and we degenerated into rap and hip-hop.

    But back to sculpture. It’s an amazing feat, turning cold hard marble into lifelike forms. (At least one guy said it’s not so hard – just chip away everything that doesn’t look like what you want to sculpt. That guy deserves a pie in the face.)

    One big question is, why do we do these things? Why do we make Davids and Carlottas?

    • atticannie

      I forwarded your email to Rebecca and asked her to reply. My only answer would be another question. Why does anyone make anything? It must have something to do with inner drive from David to prize winning apple pie. We do it because we can. AA

      • “We do it because we can.”

        Good answer – and that’s part of it. But we make a lot of things because we have to: houses on the prairie, igloos in Alaska, ice-cream machines, …

        It’s the things we make that we don’t have to that I wonder about. Like the Taj Mahal. It seems to be one of the things that separates us from the animals.

        Most of the things you talked about making are beautiful things (except maybe the sculptures at the top). We’re drawn to beautiful things – painting, music &c.