What does God smell like?


premature baby

Good morning, world! Wow! I never thought I’d write a blog a couple of days ago about a Department of Peace that would be read by so many countries. I am in total shock. I thought I was reaching on a regular basis only about fifteen of my friends, relatives, and a few new fellow bloggers. Today is another Sunday. As of right now it’s been read in 37 countries by over 500 people.

The following story appeared Saturday in my mailbox and, although I’ve received it before, I thought there might be someone somewhere who will be reading it for the first time. I’m sorry about no pictures but my computer won’t allow me to download the file type.

I have no idea if this story  is true or not but it is a good story that can make you think about the power of God. I checked White Pages and there is a Diana and husband David Blessing living in the Irving, TX  area. I know very premature babies are being saved. I just don’t know if they smell God while they are in such critical condition. Here’s the story I received.

A cold March wind danced around the dead of night in  Dallas as  the doctor walked into the small hospital room of Diana  Blessing. She was still groggy from surgery.

Her  husband, David , held her hand as they braced  themselves for  the latest news.
That afternoon of March 10, 1991,  complications had forced Diana,  only 24-weeks pregnant, to undergo an emergency Cesarean  to deliver the couple’s new daughter, Dana Lu Blessing. 

At  12 inches long and weighing only one pound nine  ounces, they  already knew she was perilously premature. Still,  the doctor’s soft words dropped like bombs. 

‘I don’t think she’s  going to make it,’ he said, as kindly as he could.  

‘There’s  only a 10-percent chance she will live through the night,  and even then, if by some slim chance she does make it,  her future could be a very cruel one’

Numb  with disbelief, David and Diana listened as the  doctor described  the devastating problems Dana would likely face if  she survived. She  would never walk, she would never talk, she would probably  be blind, and she would certainly be prone to other  catastrophic conditions from cerebral palsy to  complete  mental retardation, and on and on. 

‘No! No!’  was all Diana could say. 

She and David , with their 5-year-old son Dustin, had  long dreamed of the day they would have a daughter to become a  family of four.

Now,  within a matter of hours, that dream was  slipping away

But  as those first days passed, a new agony set in for David  and Diana. Because Dana’s underdeveloped nervous system  was essentially  ‘raw’, the lightest kiss or caress only intensified  her discomfort, so they couldn’t even cradle their tiny baby  girl against their chests to offer the  strength of their love.

All  they could do, as Dana struggled  alone beneath the ultraviolet light in the tangle of tubes and  wires, was to pray that God would stay close to  their precious little girl. 

There  was never a moment when Dana suddenly grew stronger. 

But as  the weeks went by, she did slowly gain an ounce of weight  here and an ounce of strength there.

At  last, when Dana turned two months old. her parents were able to  hold her in their arms for the very first time. And  two  months later, though doctors continued to gently but grimly  warn that her chances of surviving, much less living any kind of  normal life, were next to zero, Dana went home from  the hospital, just as her mother had predicted. 

Five  years later, Dana was a petite but feisty young  girl with glittering gray eyes  and an unquenchable zest for life.  She  showed no signs whatsoever of any mental or physical  impairment. Simply, she was everything a little girl  can be and more. But that happy ending is far from  the end  of her story. 

One  blistering afternoon in the summer of 1996 near her home  in Irving , Texas , Dana was sitting in her mother’s  lap in  the bleachers of a local ball park where her brother Dustin’s  baseball team was practicing.
As always, Dana was  chattering nonstop with her mother and several other  adults sitting nearby, when she  suddenly fell silent.  Hugging  her arms across her chest, little Dana asked, ‘Do  you smell that?’ 

Smelling  the air and detecting the approach of a thunderstorm,  Diana replied, ‘Yes, it smells like rain.’
Dana  closed her eyes and again asked, ‘Do you smell that?’  

Once  again, her mother replied, ‘Yes,  I think we’re about to get wet. It smells like rain.’  

Still caught in the moment, Dana shook her head,  patted her thin  shoulders with her small hands and loudly announced, 
‘No,  it smells like Him. 

It  smells like God when you lay your head on His  chest.’ 

Tears  blurred Diana’s eyes as Dana happily hopped down to  play with the other children.  
Before the rains came, her daughter’s words  confirmed what Diana and all the members of the extended  Blessing family had  known, at least in their hearts, all along.
During  those long days and nights of her first two months of  her life, when her nerves were too sensitive for them  to touch  her, God was holding Dana on His chest and it is His  loving  scent that she remembers so well.

This is the place where I was supposed to forward the story to five friends so that something good will happen to me at 11 o’clock. When I read that, that’s the time I usually hit the delete button. However, this story continues to touch me. There have been many occasions during the troubling times in my life that I have tremendously desired to be embraced by God to rest within the Holy Spirit. I would love to be able to sense the “smell” of God and embrace the experience with all my senses. That is why I didn’t delete this story this time.  I really like the story and the understanding faith I have in my life says that what we consider God can and does work miracles. God is manifested in all life, even the life of a premature baby. What do you believe?  

Namaste. A friend asked me what that means.

Definition: Namaste is a Hindi salutation or greeting. The word Namaste is a combination of the two Sanskrit words: nama, and te. Basically, nama means “to bow” and te means “you.”

Interpretation:

The God/Goddess Spirit within me recognizes and honors the God/Goddess Spirit within you.

Namaste is significant because it is a humbling gesture. Namaste is done as a recognition that we are all on equal standings, all of us are children of divinity. We are one.

Who Can Namaste?

Namaste can be used as a greeting for all ages, all genders, all races. Namaste greetings can be given to friends, family members, and also strangers. Namaste is significant because it is a humbling gesture. Namaste is done as a recognition that we are all on equal standings, all of us are children of divinity. We are one.

Now you know… I believe we are all one. Have a blessed day. Attic Annie

3 Comments

Filed under Casual conversation, diary, general topics, life, Motherhood, musings, spirituality, Uncategorized

3 responses to “What does God smell like?

  1. Vesna

    What an incredible story to start a new week with. And yes, we do read your blog hon! I am happy to be one of the 500 readers. I am reading from Slovenia, tiny European country with 2,000.000 citizens only. Just feeling a strong need to tell you that your blog is awesome. I will keep coming back here because it is full of interesting ideas and info, and most important to me – I take spiritual breaths here! You totally got me with your Sunday post! It has been a blessing to me! Thank you and keep up your precious work!
    Blessings to all.
    Vesna

    • atticannie

      THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU Vesna, I am taking a course called Lessons in Truth using a book by Elizabeth Cady at my church and I have learned to make affirmations. I had to write a paper this weekend and my affirmation was “My Divine Self has talents to share and contributions to make by expressing myself and volunteering my time. “God’s leading me upward into higher things”. I made that affirmation on Saturday and there you are in Slovenia on Sunday telling me that my work has been a blessing to you! I actually cried and I never cry! Please let me know you are here with me more often. I’m moving in a month but my “attic” is going with me. I will no longer have a front porch but I will have a patio. Come sit with me whenever you wish and we’ll talk.

    • atticannie

      Merry Christmas Vesna. I think about you in Slovenia. I wish you well. Please tell me how you celebrate Christmas, if you do. Attic Annie