Daily Archives: September 7, 2009

Everybody needs a Maxine

An_Apple_A_Day_-_Maxine

Saturday I awoke about 7 am tidied up the house, took a shower, dressed and waited. Someone had booked a showing at 10:30. I have decided I am no longer leaving the house until clients actually show up. I was all ready to go. I put Ri-Leigh on her leash, picked up the newspaper and sat down on the glider to work the crossword puzzle.

They had booked from 10:30-12. Most people only book an hour. As I sat outside I started getting queasier and more and more light-headed the longer I sat. I closed my eyes and just sat, hoping the feelings would disappear. They didn’t. I managed to make it outside on the glider ’til noon. I tried to work the puzzles while I waited, but found it easier just to close my eyes. I finally decided no one was coming so I made it to my bedroom and lay my dizzy body down on the bed.

At one o’oclock the doorbell rang. I made it to the door. A woman stood in front of a younger couple. I heard something about being sorry and would it be okay….I responded with, “Yes, you may tour the house if you don’t mind if I sit on the glider on the porch.” I knew it would be no use trying to walk to the car. I didn’t trust myself to drive. They, of course, didn’t mind. They entered and closed the door behind them.

While they were inside, Maxine drove into her driveway. A few minutes later she started walking towards my house. She asked if she could join me. I replied I didn’t mind as long as she didn’t. I could hardly communicate. She just sat there quietly beside me. I think she wanted to see who would come out of the house.

In true Maxine fashion, she started peppering me with questions. No I didn’t feel well. No I didn’t know what was wrong. No I hadn’t had anything to eat yet that day…it was almost 2 o’clock by that time. Yes, my blood sugar was still ok. It had been high that morning. No, I wasn’t running a temperature…well, not higher than 99.1 o anyway. “What can I do for you? What can I bring you?” I assured her I didn’t need anything. I didn’t think I could hold anything down.

The clients left and I returned to my recliner. All of a sudden I felt like upchucking. I knew there was nothing in my stomach but I headed towards the porcelein thone anyway. I don’t remember feelint that way since I was thiry and gave up drinking more than one or two glasses of wine or beers at a time. I was right. There was nothing in me. I couldn’t make it back out to the family room so I again lay on the bed and fell asleep.

I didn’t hear a thing until about 3:40. I woke up and walked to the kitchen. When I looked out the window, there was Maxine checking to see if I had any mail. Just as I saw her, the phone rang. Evidently I had slept through the call of Central Showing. They were cancelling a second showing for the day which was to be at 3:30. The client didn’t show. Thank goodness. I want to sell the house, but by that time I had disrobed and was standing in the kitchen in my underwear.

Maxine was gone by the time I hung up the phone and checked my phone messages. Yep, somebody wanted to show the house at 3:30.  My new phone is set to play a lovely melody instead of the irritating ring. This is the second time I’ve been told someone called. I guess I have to go back to the ring because the melody doesn’t wake me up if I nap, especially if the TV is on.  Since Maxine had been at my mailbox, I went to the door expecting mail. Inside the screen door was a big bottle of Sprite.  She told me she was going to the grocery store. I told her I didn’t need anything. She’s one who can’t take no for an answer.

When I called her, she asked how I knew it was her. Well, duh, she was the only one I had told about not feeling well. She was also the only one checking my mailbox.

That’s Maxine for you. She couldn’t come home without something for me. She didn’t want me to get dehydrated. Now isn’t that thoughtful? She’s like that. Mother Hen. Best Friend. Of course she’s pretty much like that with most of the other people I know who know her. She’s just one of those kind of people. She can’t rest until everybody is helped. Maybe it’s because she grew up on the campus of a small Bible college where helping others was ingrained in her. Maybe it’s just because she is who she is.

She has a husband, a daughter, two grown sons, two daughters in law and four grandchildren. Whenever she needs help there is always someone who can help her. I keep telling her I can’t even begin to repay all the things she has done for me over the years. She tells me that I listen to her when she comes over to sit on the glider with me. That’s all that is important to her.

Isn’t that sweet?

Right on schedule Maxine called on Sunday just to check on me. She must have seen my car leave for church because she waited until around 3. Somehow I knew she would call.

I’m really going to miss her being across the street when I sell this house. Even if she will only be less than a mile away. It just isn’t going to be the same.

Oh, and I was fine the next day, thank you. A good ol’ dose of Milk of Magnesia (or an apple) can cure most everything that ails me. Take care. Namaste. Attic Annie

Comments Off on Everybody needs a Maxine

Filed under Casual conversation, diary, friendship, general topics, life, musings, relationships, Uncategorized