Fort Worth = Spring Break, Seriously?


When I first saw the blog from the Fort Worth Convention and Visitor’s  Bureau inviting people to Fort Worth for spring break, I laughed. Seriously? Really?

Don’t get me wrong. When my ex said we would be moving to Texas, I was devastated. All I knew about Texas was cowboys, pickup trucks, gun racks, dust, tumbleweeds, and dirt. Miles of dirt. Actually, I was almost half right. The phrase “Where the West Begins” is a reality when describing this town. Drive west only a few miles and that’s exactly what you have. Beyond Weatherford, trees get mighty scarce. The dust however, is constantly present. It sometimes arrives in storms.

We had one week to find a house. On our first day of driving around the city, it was comforting to experience the many gently rolling hills and the actual trees and grass and flowers. Lots of flowers around town. I fell in love with this place. Even after my ex left in the  ’80s, I made the conscious decision to stay here. I’ve been here since 1977 and I don’t really have any plans to relocate anywhere else.

When I hear the term “spring break” however, I think in terms of college kids. Beer. Sun. Motels booked for two and holding ten. Swim suits. Beaches. Numerous activities that pay homage to a variety of physical pleasures. That does not connect with the image of Fort Worth.

Take a look at what the FWCVB lists as great activities for spring break.

Spring Break

Looking for the perfect Spring Break destination?

With exciting events and activities, Fort Worth has everything to keep your entire herd happy.

Top 10 Things to Do and See this Spring Break

1.  See the Fort Worth Herd, the world’s only twice-daily cattle drive, and have an up-close encounter with a Texas longhorn. 
2. Enjoy a variety of art activities during Family Fun Week at the Amon Carter Museum of American Art. Admission is FREE.
3. Celebrate St. Patrick’s Day at Cowtown Goes Green in the Fort Worth Stockyards National Historic District.
4. Learn all about money and how its made at the Bureau of Engraving and Printing.
 5. Experience Grossology: The (Impolite) Science of the Human Body that uses high-tech, interactive exhibits to explain the good, the bad and the ugly about why our body works the way it does to keep us healthy.
 6. Get outside and explore the Fort Worth Nature Center and Refuge through hayrides, canoeing, hiking and more.
 7. Cheer on rodeo professionals as they compete in the Stockyards Championship Rodeo, home of the first indoor rodeo.
 8. Take some “you” time by enrolling your little one in the Fort Worth Zoo’s 2012 Spring Break Camp.
 9. View demonstrations of woodworking, blacksmithing, coopering, and more at Log Cabin Village.
 10. At Spring Break Wonders at the Modern, children can create their own works of art after recieving inspiration from docent-guided tours of the museum.

Once I stopped laughing at the idea of FW being a final destination for spring break for college kids, I realized that the FWCVB was not targeting them. The spring break they are advertising is for families. Now I’m not sure how many families are able to take a trip in March all together at one time, but they may be on to an untapped market.

All of the items listed above are actually fun places to visit. They eliminated Six Flags but that’s because it is not in Fort Worth. It’s actually in Arlington, fifteen miles to the east. Glen Rose, about fifty miles to the southwest, has a few days of attractions as well at the Dinosaur State Park and the Fossil Rim Nature Center where you stay in the car and the animals roam free.

I’ve been trying for years to get my nieces to bring their families down here but so far I’ve been unsuccessful. I think they view Texas the same way I did back in the 70s. They were here for a few days a very long time ago as children but I doubt they remember much of anything about it. I’m not a good salesperson.

Of course you would have to rent a car if you didn’t have friends or relatives with a spare one to borrow. Texas is still bent on building tollways rather than mass transit. Fort Worth is definitely in that catagory. Dallas is on its way, but FW is still stuck in the 50s only with limited bus transportation.

The more I think about it, the more I think Fort Worth, for adults or families, is a great destination point for spring break. The weather is still not too hot. You can skip the cowboy scene after one day when you realize there’s more to FW than cowboys. A lot more. Just don’t bother to bring a bikini.


3 Comments

Filed under childhood, family, general topics, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Fort Worth = Spring Break, Seriously?

  1. Fort Worth sounds fun to me. I’d love to spend time on a beach, but since I’ve hardly traveled anywhere, EVERY place sounds new and interesting to me.

    And cowboys are something I’d LOVE to see! :-)

  2. atticannie

    They used to post emails so I could reply privately. I can’t find it now. Terri, you are welcome any time. I’d love to have the company. My house isn’t very fancy. It hasn’t been updated in 40 years…some of it is original ’57 house, but you are most welcome. There is a lot to do. AA

Leave a Reply

