What’s a meme? Here’s mine


Good morning. This meme was attached to one of my blogs. I’m not sure what a meme is, but I’ve seen that word before. I think I’ll let you know a little more about me. I’m blogging as a way to get to know myself so maybe we can make the discovery at the same time.

1. My uncle once: hooked a large sled to his tractor and dragged my cousins and me around the fields through the snow. It was a sunny day and the sun glistened. It was a day full of joy and laughter.

2. Never in my life: Have I felt I’ve been inside a box. I’ve always been outside. A FB quiz on “What kind of girl are you?” came back with I’m a rebel. In a way, I think it fits.

3. When I was five: I got so mad that our housekeeper wouldn’t tie the strings on my doll’s bonnet that I sat down and did it myself. It was more important to her to talk with her sister, but I accomplished something that day because of it.

4. High School was: according to others, a time of my achievement. According to myself, a time of feeling very lonely and disconnected from everyone around me.

5. I will never forget: walking into the girls’ restroom during a ballgame in grade school not knowing that the visiting team was using it. I got chased right back out. Thank goodness it was half time and not shower time at the end of the game.

young swimmers6. I once met: a young boy who visited along with his father at the summer home of my uncle and aunt at a lake. The whole evening we swam together and talked. That was the first time I ever felt electricity and it was a heady experience. Finally, a boy was paying attention to me. That’s important when you are thirteen. My aunt for the only time in my life called for me to come to bed early when everyone was just sitting around talking. Angrily I obeyed. The next morning he was already gone. I think he might have given me my first kiss.

7. There’s this girl I know who: blogs about the same kinds of things I think about. She’s not yet twenty. I feel she could be my granddaughter. I’d love to get to know Mickey beter.

8. Once, at a bar: I was told that I had kissed a complete stranger. The next night a guy I knew was with him. I was told it was the greatest kiss he’d ever received. Gary told me to kiss him again. When I did, I didn’t even remember the first kiss, but the second kiss did absolutely nothing for me. He asked me out for a date. but I was extremely bored. I didn’t care at all that he was a dentist. He was a boring kisser.

 9. By noon, I’m usually: finished with my next day’s blog, or running errands, or eating lunch, or watching something on TV, or finishing up my walk, or….it’s great to not have a set schedule.

10.Last night: I watched a rerun of Barbara Walters interviewing Patrick Swayze. He was a really neat guy. I wish I could meet a guy with a pair of boots like him. I loved to watch him dance. Those guys are rare.

11. If only I had: a companion (male) who would go places with me, cook dinners with me, sit with me in front of the fire, and be willing to live somewhere else instead of being in my life 24/7.

12. Next time I go to church: I will be discussing in class Eckhart Tolle’s A New Earth Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose. It’s amazing how he validates so much of my life experience and the feelings I had about them. When you learn something about yourself, it gives you a very freeing and liberating feeling, like you can let those emotions surrounding those events go.

13.Terry Schiavo: should never have had to suffer for as long as she did. I will never understand people who support the death penalty but fight to not let nature take its course in a case of persistent vegetation. Death is nothing more than a transition to a better place. To imprision a spirit here when the body is incapable of being cured to me is cruel and unusual punishment. I firmly believe in honoring DNR no heroic measures requests.

14. What worries me most: is ending up warehoused in a nursing home, not being given dignified end of life care. I worked in such a home when I was in college. I saw things that no teenager should have to experience…bed sores the size of dinner plates, unconscious patients being suctioned. Patients doped up and forced to sit tied into wheel chairs all day before being put to bed for the night at 4 PM. That’s not what I want.

15. When I turn my head left, I see: the side doorway out of my home.

16.When I turn my head right, I see:  my family room straight through down the hall to my bedroom and out my window to the street beyond.

17. You know I’m lying when:  I’m saying anything untrue. I’ve never been a successful liar in my life. My whole body is a tell. It’s much easier for me to just tell the truth.

18. What I miss most about the eighties: the chance I wish I had had to spend more time with my son instead of getting a divorce and then coming down with CFS and fibromyalgia.

19. If I was a character in Shakespeare, I’d be: probably one of the minor characters like the nursemaid of Juliet. At times I think I probably could have fantasized being Lady Macbeth when my husband mistreated me one too many times. However, it’s not in me to kill anyone. Her death inspired her husband to realize how short life really is.

“She should have died hereafter;
There would have been a time for such a word.
To-morrow, and to-morrow, and to-morrow,
Creeps in this petty pace from day to day,
To the last syllable of recorded time;
And all our yesterdays have lighted fools
The way to dusty death. Out, out, brief candle!
Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player
That struts and frets his hour upon the stage
And then is heard no more. It is a tale
Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury
Signifying nothing.”
— Macbeth (Act 5, Scene 5, lines 17-28)

20. By this time next year: I will hopefully have traveled to many places and come home to a newer smaller home.

21. A better name for me would be: _______ (fill in the blank, but be nice.) This was someone else’s answer but I agree. I can’t think of a better name other than Indigo Child.

22. I have a hard time understanding: people who hate people who are different. That’s why I’m glad I have found Unity. There are kindred spirits there who show tremendous acceptance of others. I have a hard time understanding Christians who are hate filled bigots.

23. If I ever go back to school, I’ll: probably learn Spanish or take water aerobics or a writing class … there’s a lot of classes for seniors.

24.You know I like you if: I feel free enough to tease you and joke with you and relax around you when I let me be me.

25. If I ever won an award, the first person I’d thank would be: whoever helped me win it.

26. Darwin, Mozart, Slim Pickens & Geraldine Ferraro: A scientist who started the world thinking, an unsurpassed child prodigy who died too soon because the world would not accept him, a cowboy rodeo player who ended up entertaining people in the movies, a woman who dared to think she might make a good vice president at a time men were still trying to keep their “women” in the bedroom and the kitchen barefoot.

27.Take my advice, never: give advice. Be there with thoughts if asked for help but otherwise keep your mouth shut.

28.My ideal breakfast is: a buffet at a top notch German hotel.

29.A song I love, but do not own is: One Hand One Heart from West Side Story. I think all couples marrying should pray that their hands and hearts be joined together so that only death shall ever part them. It was one of the songs I had sung at my wedding. It didn’t work for me but that doesn’t mean I can’t believe it can happen for others.

30. If you visit my hometown, I suggest: you climb down the sides of the ravines to the creek flowing through the bottom to see the sun shining  through the leaves of the trees above you…especially in the fall. But watch out, deer have found their way back to the area.

31. Tulips, character flaws, microchips, & track stars: have only their beauty to share, make us human, have opened up worlds unknown twenty years ago, strive to excel and demand the most from their bodies.

32. Why won’t people: learn to make peace and stay out of war?

33. If you spend the night at my house: you’ll have a room to yourself with a very comfortable bed.

34. I’d stop my wedding for: a brief glimpse of the future that was in store for me.

35. The world could do without: immoral mega companies only out for profit who have no soul and are bent on destroying the world and the people in it.

36. I’d rather lick the belly of a cockroach than: lose a friend.

37. My favorite blonde is: my son as a baby boy with hair almost white in the sun.

38: Paper clips are more useful than: pearls or other jewelry we think we need to wear to attract attention to ourselves.

39. If I do anything well, it’s: write.

40. And by the way: thanks for reading this far if you did.

Well, I don’t know if you learned anything about me or not. Some of these sentence starters are kind of off the wall. These questions made me realize that I kind of like the woman I am…warts and all. Ya’ll have a good day now, yahear? Namaste. Attic Annie

p.s. sorry for the bold print. I don’t know how to correct it when I transferred it from “word”.

2 Comments

Filed under Casual conversation, diary, general topics, music, transition, Uncategorized

2 responses to “What’s a meme? Here’s mine

  1. 06mickey

    Well, a meme is like a blogging template of some sort, just like yours, it asks questions and has blanks for you to fill which in the end turns out to be a blog post only easier to create and needs the least creativity.You can check out thedailymeme.com or memecentral.com for more memes although there are (probably)millions of sites with memes to make your blogging experience easier.
    O.k enough of that.

    about the post;
    #4-I feel you!
    #11-me too!!!!

    To correct the “bold issue”; after you are done making a certain text ‘bold’ , make sure you click the bold button(B) again on the editor so that the text that comes after that isn’t bold, or you can highlight the text that is already bold that you don’t want to be bold and click the B button again and voila!
    Hope that helps!!

    Cheers!

    • atticannie

      Thanks for the “bold” tip, but for some reason I’ve tried everything including deleting to whole thing and trying to type it all over. I guess I’ve got a glitch somewhere. It just won’t let go of the bold.

Leave a Reply

